OPIC2019 Plenary Sessions

Tue. 23 April, 9:00-12:00 < Room 501+502>

9:00-9:05 Opening Address

by Reinhart Poprawe, Congress Co-Chair

9:05-9:20 Congratulatory Address to recipient of the Nobel Prize in Physics 2018

For Arthur Ashkin by Takeshige Omatsu, OMC Chair

For Gerard Mourou and Donna Strickland by Chris P. J. Barty, Congress Co-Chair

9:20-09:55 Chair of the First Session: Yoshiaki Kato

Recent advances in SESAM-modelocked high-power thin disk lasers

Ursula Keller

Professor, Physics Department, ETH Zurich Director, National Center of Competence in Molecular

Ultrafast Science and Technology

9:55-10:30 The 10PW and 100PW lasers: paving the way for exploring the next frontier of high field physics

Ruxin Li

Director, Shanghai institute of Optics and Fine Mechanics,

Chinese Academy of Sciences

10:30-10:50 Break

10:50-11:25 Chair of the Second Session: Kazuo Kuroda

'A billion times brighter': An overview of the revolution underway in X-ray science

Mike Dunne

Director, LCLS

Associate Laboratory Director, SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory

Professor of Photon Science, Stanford University

11:25-12:00 Quantum Neural Network — Coherent Ising Machine, XY Machine and Recurrent Neural Network

Yoshihisa Yamamoto Program Manager of ImPACT Program, Japan Science and Technology Agency